Polls are open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

Published 10:50 pm Monday, October 3, 2016

Selma will go to the polls today to elect its next mayor.

State Rep. Darrio Melton and former Mayor James Perkins will meet in a runoff. City council president, five council seats and two board of education spots are also on the ballot.

For council president, incumbent Corey Bowie will go up against challenger Lydia Chatmon.

Email newsletter signup

In Ward 3, Miah Tolbert-Jackson and Regina Woods seek to follow outgoing council member Greg Bjelke.

In Ward 4, incumbent Angela Benjamin will face Joyce Whitely.

In Ward 6, incumbent Benny Tucker will meet Johnnie Leashore.

In Ward 7, Jack Shannon and Jannie Thomas seek to follow outgoing council member Bennie Ruth Crenshaw.

Susan Keith, Samuel Randolph and Michael Johnson were reelected in Wards 2, 5 and 8, respectively. In Ward 1, Carl Bowline was chosen to follow outgoing council member Cecil Williamson.

On the Selma Board of Education, Phyllis Moore-Houser and Lola Sewell face-off for the District 3 seat. A contest between Danielle Wooten and Kirit Chapatwala remains on the ballot though Chapatwala bowed out of the race in September.

Voters in Ward 1 will have a slight change to their normal routine when they go to the polls.

Typically, Ward 1 voters have two polling places, one at Memorial Stadium and one at the old National Guard Armory. Due to the Central Alabama Fair being in town, all voters in Ward 1 will cast their vote at Memorial Stadium.

The YMCA of Selma and Dallas County is the polling place for Ward 2.

Ward 3 voters will vote at the Christian Outreach Alliance Facility and the Dallas County Courthouse.

Ward 4 voters will vote at the Selma Mall and the Woodrow Avenue fire station. Ward 5 voters will vote at the Rangedale Community Center and Selma High School.

Ward 6 will vote at New St. John Baptist Church and the Broad Street fire station. Ward 7 will vote at Queen of Peace School and West Trinity Baptist Church. Ward 8 will vote at East End fire station and GWC Carver Center.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.