Six Dallas County players make All-State football team

Published 5:00 am Saturday, December 23, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Dallas County made its usual representation on the Alabama Sportswriters Association (ASWA) All-State football team.

Six players made the private or public school teams released Saturday morning by the ASWA.

Southside, the Dallas County champions, accounted for half of the All-State players.

Email newsletter signup

– Wide receiver Derick Smith made the Class 3A first team as an athlete, his third straight appearance on the team. Smith, a junior, ran 65 times for 1,036 yards and nine touchdowns. Smith caught 46 passes for 1,487 yards and 14 touchdowns. He also ran 78 times for 289 yards and two TDs. Defensively, Smith had 109 total tackles and a Pick-6.

-Smith’s twin brother Erick Smith, made second-team offense at wide receiver. Erick Smith caught 39 passes for 1,333 yards and 11 TDs.

-Panthers quarterback MJ Reese earned Honorable mention honors. Reese completed 120 of 184 passes for 3,199 yards and 26 touchdowns. Reese also ran for 584 yards and eight TDs on 61 rushes.

Morgan Academy had two players on the Alabama Independent School Association (AISA) second team: sophomore offensive lineman Caine McLaughlin and defensive back Milton Hand, who had 79 total tackles as a senior.

Keith linebacker Jarius Sanders, a junior, earned honorable mention honors in Class 1A. Sanders made 127 total tackles.

Former  Morgan Academy assistant football coach Lebo Jones was named AISA coach of the year at Wilcox Academy.