Zetas donate scholarship to Selma University

Published 5:11 am Thursday, December 7, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Gamma Alpha Alpha Zeta (GAAZ) chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. donated a check for the scholarship bearing the group’s name, the Dallas County Zeta Emergency Scholarship, at Selma University on Nov. 28.

Dallas County Zeta members Dr. Constance Hendricks, her daughter, Dr. Denisha Hendricks, Lynda Lowery, Athenia Angion and Tia Stevenson presented a check for $1,878 to Selma University President Dr. Stanford Angion.

“We made the amount of $1,878 in response to their 1878 campaign,” Dr.  Constance Hendricks said.

Email newsletter signup

Angion, a member of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., said he’s grateful for the donation. 

“We are grateful for the amount because every dollar helps bring students to Selma University,” Angion said.

The purpose of the scholarship is providing assistance to students when unforeseen life events occur.

Some Dallas County Zetas have ties to Selma University. Angion’s wife, Athenia, is a Dallas County Zeta.

Constance Hendrick’s grandfather, H.D. Smith Sr., was the first business officer at Selma University. Her parents, H.D. Smith Jr. and Geneva Glover-Smith, graduated from Selma University.

Constance Hendricks said that Heshe was inspired by her grandfather and attending Concordia College, to create the opportunity for awarding the scholarship.

Shelly McGee also attended Selma University from 1969 to 1971 and said she enjoyed it.

“The campus was vibrant with many, many students living in the dorms on campus. The library was well organized,” McGee said. “The cafeteria was the place to eat. They served the best food.”

McGee also said that Selma University was filled with Zetas in those days.

“The only Greek organization on campus was Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated, that I know of,” McGee said. “The basketball and baseball teams were awesome, the best in their conference.”

Anita Wood, Dr. Ellen Buckner, Dr. Shelicia Ford, Dr. Barbara Wilder, Dr. Irish Spencer, Greta Abernathy, Jeanette Cadell, Karen Bailey, Lynda Lowery and Shelly McGee are also  members in the GAAZ chapter.