Three former University of Alabama quarterbacks pass Super Bowl tests

Published 6:00 am Friday, August 25, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The University of Alabama has a unique tradition of winning Super Bowl championships.

Three different starting quarterbacks each have won Super Bowls: Bart Starr, Joe Namath and Ken Stabler.  The trio combined to win four of the first 11 Super Bowls. All three are members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Jalen Hurts narrowly missed becoming the fourth former Alabama quarterback to win a Super Bowl, falling short with the Philadelphia Eagles last year. The Eagles will be one of the favorites to win the Super Bowl this season.

Email newsletter signup

In a reserve role, Jeff Rutledge earned Super Bowl rings with both the New York Giants (XXI) and Washington Redskins ( XXVI).

Bart Starr, Green Bay Packers, Super Bowl I and Super Bowl II

Starr, who played at Sidney Lanier High School in Montgomery, earned MVP honors in the first two Super Bowls. Starr, who died in 2019, won five NFL championships. He was 16-of-23 for 250 yards and two touchdowns in a 35-10 victory over the Kansas City Chiefs in Super Bowl I.

He was 13-of-24 for 202 yards and a touchdown in a 33-14 victory over the Oakland Raiders in Super Bowl II. Starr was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1977.

Joe Namath, New York Jets, Super Bowl III

Namath played in the most famous Super Bowl when he guaranteed a Jets’ victory over the Baltimore Colts. Broadway Joe was 17-of-28 for 206 yards as the Jets became the first AFL team to win a Super Bowl.

Namath was the first starting quarterback to win a national championship and Super Bowl championship. Joe Montana is the only other to accomplish the feat. Namath was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1985.

Ken Stabler, Oakland Raiders, Super Bowl XI

Stabler, who played at Foley High School, led the Raiders to a 32-14 win over the Minnesota Vikings in Super Bowl XI. Stabler, who died in 2015, was 12-of-19 for 180 yards and a touchdown.  Stabler was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2016.In 1966, Stabler narrowly missed on joining Namath  and Montana as national champion and Super Bowl winner when the unbeaten Crimson was left out of national title race.