Delta Kappa Gamma honors female graduates

Published 6:33 pm Friday, June 9, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Alpha Omicron Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma International awarded 10 scholarships to Selma and Dallas County senior girls in the Class of 2023.

The Academic Award winners were: Kamara Talton (Dallas County), Keenan McHugh (Morgan Academy), Lucy Hopkins (Morgan Academy), Shatavia Jackson (Selma High) amd Keshunti Green (Selma High).

Florence Mooring Scholarship winners are: Margaret McLaughlin (Morgan Academy), McCann Perkins (Morgan Academy), Walteria Curtis (Selma High), Amyrrean Acoff (Selma High) and Camya Johnson (Selma High).

Email newsletter signup

McHugh, Talton and Jackson were awarded $800. Green and Hopkins were awarded $500.

The Florence Mooring Award Scholarship winners each received $250.

Accordingly to Carolyn Dunaway, every senior girl in the area had an opportunity to submit an application for one of these awards.

The criteria for selection was based on a point system.  first, to apply a student must have had a minimun ACT score of 19.  Then points were given for particiapation in community activities, volunteer work, church participation, school actitives and honors, and employment.

“Delta Kappa Gamma International is an educational society which maintains its goal of  professional growth of women educators and excellence in education,” Dunaway said. “To this end, the local Alpha Omicron Society has chosen as its main project the recognition of excellence in education and community service by senior high school young women. Providing scholarhips to further education is the method selected for providing this recognition.”

Dunaway said the Class of 2023 is another strong edition.

“In the Selma/ Dalls County area, Delta Kappa Gamma provides a substantial anount of scholarship money to local students,” Dunaway said. “Recognizing educational excellence is an important goal of this   society.”