Dallas County Commission narrowly approves redistricting

Published 9:19 am Tuesday, March 14, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Dallas County Commission narrowly approved redistricting on Monday.

The Commission approved 3-2 of  Revising Dallas County Commission Single Members during its regular meeting.

Commissioners Curtis Williams and Jan Justice voted no. Commissioners Vivian Rogers and Connell Towns voted yes, with Probate Judge Jimmy Nunn as the tiebreaker vote.

Email newsletter signup

Nunn said by state law that the four districts’ population must be five percent, either plus or minus.

Williams and Towns each will receive over 200 people from Rogers’ district in Valley Grande.

The Commissioners have the following Districts: Connell Towns (District 1), Vivian Rogers (District 2), Curtis Williams (District 3) and Jan Justice (District 4).

A public hearing was held  30 minutes before the Dallas County Commission vote took place.

Butch Wilson and Fran Pearce each spoke and voice their opposition to redistricting.

Roy and Minnie McMillan spoke, but changed the subject to equal funding and fixing roads in the districts.

Nunn stayed focused on redistricting during the public hearing. 

“We don’t have a choice, state law requires us to adjust districts back to five percent,” Nunn said. “It’s not about rules, it’s about population.”

Nunn said a discussion will be held on the allocation of funds in each district down the road.