Courageous Free thinkers celebration will be held in March

Published 10:46 am Tuesday, February 28, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Courageous Free Thinkers Celebration will be held next weekend during the Selma Bridge Crossing Jubilee.

The event will be held March 4-5 at Ebenezer Missionary Baptist Church.  The Panel Discussion will take place March 4 at 6 p.m.

Tony Henshaw, Principal of the Henshaw Group, LLC; Judith Zambrano and Frank Barragan, Jim Corrigan, Lydia Chatmon, ; and Felicia Jackson will be the panelists. The Honorable Helenor Bell of Hayneville, President/CEO of HT Bell Connections, will serve as moderator.

Email newsletter signup

The Courageous Free Thinkers Worship Service conclude the event on March 5 at 9 a.m. United States Congressman James E. Clyburn of South Carolina’s 6th District will be the speaker. Clyburn will also receive, the Courageous Free Thinkers Award.

The theme of the celebration is Selma: Opportunity and Invitation. Opportunities for solutions in a post-COVID and post-tornado-struck Selma. The group plans to explore the relationships between Latin American and African American communities. “This panel discussion is an opportunity to explore the ways, means, and the will to reverse population decline and rebuild Selma by extending an invitation for working families who are looking for the type of opportunity that exists in Selma,” said Selma Mayor and Rev. James Perkins, Jr.,who serves as Committee Chairman.

“Selma needs families with employability skills and children and adults who are eager to learn and build community; there is no silver bullet. However, could an intentional relationship between the Latin American and African American communities contribute to Selma’s solution? I believe that’s a topic worth discussing.”

The Courageous Free Thinkers Celebration is a series of events to honor the “Courageous Eight,” individuals who led the Dallas County Voters League and who were the change agents in Selma during the Voting Rights Movement:  Amelia Boynton-Robinson, Marie Foster, Rev. Henry Shannon, Earnest Doyle, James Gildersleeve, Ulysses Blackmon, J. D. Hunter, and Frederick D. Reese.