Morgan Academy Pee Wee football team goes 8-1-1 during the season

Published 9:54 pm Friday, October 28, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Staff Reports

The Selma Times-Journal

The Morgan Academy 3rd through 6th grade Pee-wee football team recently completed a highly successful season under 2nd year head coach James Roberts going 8-1-1 and winning the Pee- wee championship bowl beating Glenwood Academy 40-13 before avenging an earlier tie during the regular season by beating Chambers Academy 26-13 last Saturday in Lafayette, Alabama.

Email newsletter signup

The Senators were led offensively this year by Ryder Hughey at quarterback and the tandem of Pope Roberts, Maddox Smith, Hayes Moore, and Lance Ward at running back and receiver.

According to Coach Roberts, Ryder Hughey had well over 1,000 yards passing and 12 touchdowns; Pope Roberts had over 1,500 yards rushing and receiving, and 16 total touchdowns to lead the team.

Defensively during the year, the team was led by Goodwin Alsobrook, Foster Jones, and Hayes Moore with all three scoring defensive touchdowns during the bowl games.

“Our only loss of the season was a close game in which we were down two of our main offensive weapons, if not for that we would not have lost a game,” Coach Roberts said. “We came to Chambers knowing we had to play our best to win and we just came out and dominated from start to finish. Our line blocked the best they had all year, the defensive line was always in the backfield, and our backs ran extremely hard.”

Roberts said they had so many players come out for football that they were able to form a B team for the younger kids, which went undefeated in the few games they played, something Roberts said bodes well for the future of Morgan Academy football.

Hayes Verhoff is the only third-grader listed on the roster.

The fourth graders are: Pope Roberts, Jase Wilkinson, Holden Osborn, Hudson Verhoff, Jude Jones, Fynn Posey, Noah South, John Thomas Hewston, Hain Spivey, Beck Huffman, Will Wingo and Bram Burton.

The fifth graders are:  Goodwin Alsobrook, Gunner Lobue, Daltyn Ott , Lance Ward, JJ Sheehan, Pratt Lovinggood, Emmett Pitts, William Bohannon, Hudson Edwards, Ford Culpepper.

The sixth-graders are: Maddox Smith, Tucker Roberts, Ryder Hughey, Rylee Irwin, Foster Jones, McCain Crovato, Hayes Moore, Matthew Montero, Mason Lowe, BJ Wooten, Clayton King, Cruz Moore,  Isaac Wait.

The assistant coaches are: Irvin Lovinggood, Steve Burton,Chris Reeves, Josh Verhoff, Steven South and Dillon Peak.