Morgan Academy Junior Varsity, Varsity cheerleaders finish second at AISA camp

Published 7:00 am Wednesday, June 29, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Morgan Academy’s varsity and junior varsity cheerleading squads finished as runners-up in their respective divisions in the Alabama Independent Schools Association Cheerleading Camp held June 20-23 at Troy University.

The varsity squad, featuring senior Lucy Hopkins and juniors Anne Frances Pearce, Anne Hayes Utsey, Lucy Hopkins, Claire Johnson, Rori Wilkinson, Allie Wilkinson, Lelia Kelly, Taylor Roberts and Hope Holladay, fell just short of besting Edgewood Academy in the medium varsity competition despite excelling in two of the three categories graded.

Varsity coach Meredith Johnson said the team placed first in overall sideline, first in cheer and fifth in band dance. Hopkins made the Universal Cheerleaders Association All-American squad and was also an AISA All-Star.

Email newsletter signup

“We have eight juniors and one senior that competed,” she said. “They’ve cheered together since the seventh and eighth grade, so this is their fifth year all together. They have come a long way and just mesh very well as a team and as a whole. We had a few injuries while we were there, but overall, they were still able to just be winners at the end. It was really great to them overcoming and doing all that. I was really proud of them.”

Johnson said the AISA invites its member schools to the camp each year and she estimated between 20 to 25 schools participated in the camp.

She added she hopes the successes of her squad carries over into the upcoming school year.

“I just hope that they continue to work hard,” Johnson said. “They never complain, they never give up and just never lost faith in what’s going on. They just keep doing what they’re doing because they really are great together. They’re a really good squad (that) competes together and also good support for our school.”

Morgan Academy’s junior varsity squad includes Kylie Calame, Anna James Wilkinson, Libby Pearce, Anna Clay Fuller, Leighton Grace Bennett, Analeigh Barnes, Madalyn Stevens, Kathryn Lyon and Ames Roberts.