Dallas County represented on ASWA All-State football teams

Published 6:01 am Sunday, December 19, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Dallas County has its strongest representation on the Alabama Sportswriters Association All-State football team in years.

A combined 14 players made either the private or public school teams released Sunday morning by the ASWA.

Keith High was rewarded for its historic season in Class 1A. Linebacker Hermanski Todd and defensive back Anthony Lumpkin made the first team defense. Jayln Jones made second team offense as a wide receiver.

Email newsletter signup

Southside was dominated by its high-powered offense. Wide receiver Derick Smith made first team offense in Class 3A. Quarterback Chris Thomas made first team as an athlete. Wide receiver Tae Spears and Mariyon Johnson were honorable mention. Johnson made second team as an athlete.

Morgan Academy had several players on the AISA teams. Linebacker Trey Jones made first team on defense. Running back John Allen Ingram and wide receiver Cink Minter made second team offense. Kicker Wade Mason and punter Andrew Thomas were both honorable mention selections.

Selma linebacker Dakaari Nelson made the Class 5A first team on defense. Saints linebacker Dylan Walker earned second team honors on defense.