Eight Dallas County female seniors honored by Delta Kappa International

Published 9:32 am Monday, May 17, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Eight female senior students at Dallas County Private and Public schools earned Academic Merit Awards by the Alpha Omicron Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma International at the Courtyard of the Selma/Dallas County Library.

Morgan Academy’s Elaina Wilkinson, Mary Alan Ousley, Breya Johnson of Selma, Southside’s Alexis Dixon and Alysse May of Dallas County each were presented a certificate and a scholarship check of $800.

The ladies of Alpha Omicron Chapter of Delta Kappa lost one of its long time and most supportive members, Florence Mooring, a longtime teacher in the local schools.

Email newsletter signup

The Alpha Omicron chapter is honoring her with a scholarship, the COVOID Memorial Scholarship Award.

Three Morgan Academy students were presented with a $250 scholarship check: Sydney Brooks, Hannah Lightfoot and Maggie Youngblood.