Council meets to certify runoff election results

Published 2:56 pm Tuesday, October 13, 2020

The Selma City Council met Tuesday at noon to count provisional ballots and certify the results of the runoff election held last week.

Selma City Clerk Ivy Harrison stated that 38 provisional ballots were submitted during last week’s runoff, but only 14 were approved.

Of those, one was accepted at each of the following locations: Memorial Stadium, the YMCA, the Dallas County Courthouse and East End Fire Station; another two were accepted from Woodrow Avenue Fire Station, three from Selma High School and five from the Christian Outreach Alliance (COA) facility.

The Memorial Stadium ballots were cast for mayoral candidate Miah Jackson and Selma City Council President-elect Billy Young; the YMCA ballot was cast for Jackson, council president candidate Lydia Chatmon and Ward 2 council candidate Landon Nichols; the Dallas County Courthouse ballot went to Mayor-elect James Perkins Jr., Young and Ward 3 Councilman-elect Clay Carmichael; and the East End Fire Station ballot went to Perkins and Young.

Between the five ballots at COA, Perkins collected all five votes for mayor, Young collect two to Chatmon’s three in the president’s race and Ward 3 candidate Mead Walker collected all five in is race.

At the Woodrow Avenue Fire Station box, Perkins collected two votes in the mayor’s race, while Chatmon and Young each collected one.

All three of the ballots at Selma High School went to Perkins, with Young collecting one vote and Chatmon collecting two.

None of the votes were enough to change the outcome of the runoff and the council voted unanimously to approve a resolution certifying the results.