Alpha Inspirational Achievement Awards had strong turnout

Published 12:51 pm Friday, May 3, 2019

The Alpha Inspirational Achievement Awards (AIAA) was held on Thursday night at the George P. Evans Building.

The event was originally called the Mayor George Evans Achievement Award, but the name changed when Evans’ two terms as Selma Mayor ended in 2016. Evans said the award goes beyond making good grades and work in the community.

Evans, who served as Selma Mayor from 2008-2016, said the event was a success.

Email newsletter signup

“I was very pleased,” Evans said. “I was happy with the students and parents’ turnout. Superintendent Dr. Avis Williams’ message was very challenging and down to earth where everyone all could understand it. The interaction with the students was very cleverly managed.  All the participating children were highly motivated. My Alpha Phi Alpha brothers were very involved and happy about the levels of participation.

The high-profile officials who attended the event included Dallas County District Attorney Michael Jackson, State Senator Malika Sanders-Fortier, City Council President Corey Bowie, Councilman Sam Randolph, Councilwomen Jannie Thomas and Angela Benjamin.

Here are the overall winners:

Grades 3-5: Amertrias Fincher, Fran’Kiya York, Payne Elementary, Payton Denmark, Morgan Academy.

Grades 6-8: Walter Gilmore, Anne Frances Pearce, Morgan Academy.

Grades 9-11: Caroline Thomas, Morgan Academy, Zarieana Simpson, Selma High.

Here are the regular winners:

Grades 3-5: Damun Hatcher, Makayla McDaniels, Jaide Shanks, Cedar Park Elementary, Khi Byrd, Olivia Jackson, Clark Elementary, Madison Frison, Kaden Peoples, Edgewood Elementary, D’Andre Hamner, Rod Neisha Parker, Sophia Kingston Elementary School, Destiny Calhoun, Trinity Hardy, Knox Elementary, Evans Moss, Aryon Rucker, Meadowview Elementary, Mary Grace Corey, Payton Denmark, Morgan Academy, Ametrias Fincher, Fran’Kiya York, Payne Elementary.

Grades 6-8: Walter Gilmore, Anne Frances Pearce, Morgan Academy. Camryn Chaney, Kensler England, Alexis Perry, Alexandria Williams, R.B Hudson Middle School, Cody Brown, Karen Kimbrough, Ka’Shaye Savage, Sydney Pritchett, Samari Stephens, School of Discovery.

Grades 9-11 winners: Amari Rucker, Betsaney Torrey, Meadowview Christian School, Trent Huff, Caroline Thomas, Morgan Academy, Carla Carter, Jo’Niya Chapman, Bryant Gordon, Antwun Rump, Raven Rump, Shaniah Simmons, Zariena Simpson.