Selma-Dallas County Section of NCNW to honor Dallas County officials

Published 11:05 am Thursday, March 28, 2019

The National Council of Negro Women’s (NCNW) chapter in the Selma-Dallas County section will be having its ninth annual community awards banquet on Friday night at 6 p.m. in the Carl C. Morgan Convention Center.

The NCNW will be honoring State Sen. Malika Sanders-Fortier, Dallas County Probate Judge Jimmy Nunn, Dallas County Sheriff Mike Granthum, Dallas County Circuit Clerk Lynnethia Robinson and Dallas County High School student Zanita Friday.

Tracy Dawson, the NCNW chairman of banquet committee, said the organization always look to honor local officials.

“We recognize those in the community that offer their services to the city of Selma and another surrounding area,” Dawson said. “We have a youth partnership and we try to mentor students.”

The NCNW chapter in Selma-Dallas County was officially charted on Dec. 10, 2008. The NCNW, a non-profit organization, was founded by Mary McLeod Bethune on Dec. 5, 1935. The IRS granted NCNW exempt status in 1966.

The Selma-Dallas County section officers are Patricia Griffin, President; Tarser White Slay, First Vice President; Jeanette C. Smith, Second Vice President, Bennie Ruth Crenshaw, Third Vice President; Evelyn Cox, Recording Secretary; Shirley Walton, Financial Secretary; Shirley Holmes, Treasurer; Rudy Gordon, Chaplain; Jannie Venter, Parliamentarian; Sandra Jackson, Historian.