Valley Grande city council passes three resolutions

Published 8:58 am Tuesday, March 19, 2019

The Valley Grande City Council unanimously approved three resolutions at its council meeting on Monday night Valley Grande city hall.

The entire council was present: Mayor Matt Dobbs, council members Tammy Troha, Jimmy Johnson, Ronald Sawyer, Lamar Morgan, Tim White and city clerk Janet Frasier.

The first item passed was Resolution 2019-91, which authorizes Dobbs to move city funds from the operating account at Marion Bank and open a new account at First Cahawba Bank on behalf of the city for the purpose of consolidating the city’s banking. The resolution also included the authorization of Dobbs to open a credit card account on behalf of the city for the purpose of eliminating the use of debit cards.

Email newsletter signup

The second item approved was the donations to the three Volunteer Fire Departments in the city area: Valley Grande VFD, Summerfield VFD and Potter Station VFD. Valley Grande and Summerfield will receive $20,000 each, with Potter Station getting $10,000.

The final item that got voted on was Resolution 2004-12, which involved city hall office hours. Dobbs requested that office hours at city hall will be open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., being closed 12:30-1:30 p.m. for lunch. The city unanimously passed the new hours. Dobbs said the employees were fine with the move.

The next Valley Grande city council will be held April 1 at 6 p.m. at Valley Grande city hall.