Armory voting station moved to Barrett Road UMC

Published 10:24 pm Monday, August 14, 2017

Polls will open in Dallas County at 7 a.m. for voters to cast their ballot in the special primary election for United States Senator.

The seat was held by now Selma-born U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions. When Sessions was appointed attorney general by President Donald Trump, former Gov. Robert Bentley appointed then Alabama Attorney General Luther Strange as interim.

Dallas County Probate Judge and Commission Chairman Kim Ballard said there is one change for people headed to the polls in Ward 1.

Email newsletter signup

People that usually vote at the old National Guard Armory on Dallas Avenue will now vote at Barrett Road United Methodist Church.

Ballard said there were safety concerns at the armory, as well as access issues.

“It was unsafe to begin with in the armory itself,” Ballard said. “The safety reason was one factor and parking was another.”

Ballard said the church has much better parking, as well as air conditioning, which the armory did not have.

Suzanne Ingram, chief clerk in the Dallas County Probate Office, said the air-conditioned environment will be much better for the voting machines.

The last election had a low turnout with around 10 percent of registered voters going to the polls in Dallas County.

Ingram said she expects a low turnout, but she hopes more people get out and vote.

“If they watch television at all, they’ve heard a lot of commercials. That should make people want to get out and voice their opinion,” she said Monday. “It’s their right to vote. If they registered to vote, they need to exercise that right.”

Ballard said he does not expect a high voter turnout for Dallas County.

During the last election, only 2,934 out of 31,098 registered voters went to the poll.

Candidates that will appear on the Democratic ballot will be Will Boyd, Vann Caldwell, Jason E. Fisher, Michael Hansen, Doug Jones, Robert Kennedy Jr. Brian McGee and Charles Nana.

Candidates appearing on the Republican ballot will be James Paul Beretta, Joseph F. Breault, Randy Brinson, Mo Brooks, Dom Gentile, Mary Maxwell, Roy S. Moore, Bryan Peeples, Trip Pittman and Luther Strange.

Polls will close at 7 p.m.