Evans among 16 mayors endorsing Davis

Published 3:22 pm Thursday, April 15, 2010

Staff and wire reports

SELMA — Mayor George Evans is one of 16 black mayors from across Alabama who has endorsed Artur Davis for governor.

Said Evans, “I know Artur Davis, I know his track record of standing up and fighting for communities like mine, and I am proud to support him for governor.”

Email newsletter signup

The announcements come on the heels of Davis saying he would not participate in endorsement screenings for three predominantly black political groups. On Monday, Davis said black voters need no permission from the political organizations and no sample ballots to decide who to support for governor.

On Tuesday, Davis said he appreciates the support of the black mayors, “For years, I have said that I do not need nor will I seek the permission of Montgomery’s power brokers, regardless of race, to run for office and serve the people of Alabama. These grassroots endorsements are a signal that the era where one voice can speak for an entire community is over.”

Others giving their endorsements included Prichard Mayor Ron Davis.

“Artur Davis will be a governor who puts the needs of ordinary people over the agenda of special interests,” Davis said. “He has the right vision to improve Alabama’s public schools and rebuild our economy.”

Mobile Mayor Sam Jones had previously endorsed Davis. The full list of black mayors supporting Davis is as follows:

Kenneth Coachman, Fairfield, Jefferson County

Oscar Crawley, Lanett, Chambers County

Ed Daniels, former mayor of Marion, Perry County

Ron Davis, Prichard, Mobile County

Genda Dubose, York, Sumter County

George Evans, Selma, Dallas County

Fletcher Fountain Sr., Ft. Deposit, Lowndes County

Carrie Fulghum, Gainesville, Sumter County

Mary Fuseyamore, Pickensville, Pickens County

Stanley Hollie, Akron, Hale County

Jamaal Hunter, Uniontown, Perry County

Ronald Jones, North Courtland, Lawrence County

Edward May, Bessemer, Jefferson County

Willie Mae Powell Shorter, Macon County

Raymond Steele, Eutaw, Greene County

Roy Willingham, Emelle, Sumter County.

The Associated Press contributed to this story.