Shelby, Sessions push Black Belt bill

Published 12:03 am Thursday, December 17, 2009

WASHINGTON — Alabama’s U.S. Senators Richard Shelby and Jeff Sessions today introduced the “Alabama Black Belt National Heritage Area Act” to establish the 19 counties in Alabama’s Black Belt region as a national heritage area. The Black Belt region includes the counties of Bibb, Bullock, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Greene, Hale, Lowndes, Macon, Marengo, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Pickens, Sumter, Washington, and Wilcox.

Email newsletter signup