Election is Tuesday; go vote

Published 7:58 pm Monday, December 7, 2009

By Laura Fenton

The Selma Times-Journal

Voting precincts for the school board run-off election will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today.

Email newsletter signup

Each ballot will have two races to select, one for the at large presidential position and one for the District position. Every race in the election is participating in the run-off. Candidates for the presidency position are Dr. Anne Fitts and Henry Hicks. The school board president is elected at-large, meaning each ballot will contain this race.

District candidates are:

District 1, composed of Wards 1 and 2, Holland Powell and Roderick West;

District 2, composed of Wards 4 and 5, Kimesha “Sunshine” Alvarado and Brenda Randolph-Obomanu;

District 3, composed of Wards 3 and 8, Frank Chestnut and Margaret Hardy;

District 4, composed of Wards 6 and 7, Debra Reeves-Howard and Udo Ufomadu.

Results will be tallied after polls close on Tuesday evening.

New school board members will officially take positions immediately following the certification of election results, but will not be sworn in until the Jan. 21 meeting, said Selma Schools Superintendent Dr. Austin Obasohan.

The Selma City Council will meet on Thursday to certify the election.

Newly elected board members will also have training with the Alabama School Board Association on Jan. 15 and 16.