Cycle Specialty pulls off 4-peat

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Three members of last year’s winning team defended their crown Sunday when the KTM-Cycle Specialty captured the eighth annual KTM/Husaberg Perry Mountain 24-hour Challenge, giving the team its fourth straight championship.

National KTM riders Mike Brown of Piney Flats, Tenn.; Cole Kirkpatrick of Lubbock, Texas, and Russell Bobbitt of Fayetteville, Ga. — the National Enduro Champion — teamed with Allen Gravitt of Flowery Branch, Ga.; Jason Chancey of Chattanooga, Tenn.; and Joey Baker of Fort Myers, Fla.; to complete 50 laps.

Bobbitt, Gravitt and Chancey were on the 2008 winning team. Gravitt has been on the team since its first victory in 2006. In its first Perry Mountain 24-hour race in 2004, the team finished second.

Email newsletter signup

For finishing first, the team claimed the $2,500 prize with less than an 8-minute lead over Race Shop/Husaberg North America, the $1,500 winner.

Team members for Race Shop were Michael Grizzle of Dahlonega, Ga.; Robbie Jenks of New Lexington, Ohio; Nick Fahringer of Englewood, Ohio; Rory Sullivan of Estacada, Ore.; Mark Hutchinson of Stone Mountain, Ga.; and Tommy Pierce of Kingston, Mass.

Finishing third was House Horsepower/Rekluse-KTM, which won $1,000 and finished a lap behind KTM-Cycle Specialty.

Team members were Kyle Henderson of French Camp, Miss.; Bryan Vaughn of Pittsburg, Texas; Caleb Ramsay of Weatherford, Texas; Dustin Stevens of Clanton; Zach Ingram of Fort Smith, Ark.; and Josh Young of Austin, Texas.

Fourth place and $750 went to Dirty South Boyz, which included Tyler Trammell of Dahlonega, Ga.; Nick Gentry of Dawsonville, Ga.; Lee Hallman of Prosperity, S.C.; Ben Hobbs of Bishop, Ga.; Lee Logan of Ellijay, Ga.; and Josh Burnette of Tunnel Hill, Ga.

Fifth place and $500 was won by Planet Fitness/Augusta KTM, which included Tommy Veator of Warner Robins, Ga.; Paul McColl of Swansea, S.C.; Buzz Dyer of Lawrenceville, Ga.; Lee Stephens of Evans, Ga.; Trey Wellborn of Alcolu, S.C.; Kevin Parker of Swansea, S.C.

In the Ironman competition, the winners were: 1, Michael Phillips, 33 laps ($500). 2, Michael Goodman, 33 ($300). 3, Stefan Wilde, 33 — 24:04 behind Goodman ($200).

Hannah Roberts of Wellington captured the Ironwoman division with a time of 24:05:45.405 through 13 laps.