Keith named to Artur Davis election committee

Published 12:42 am Friday, May 8, 2009

Selma City Council member Susan Keith has been named as a member of the Women for Artur Davis 2010 Committee in the congressman’s election bid for governor.

She is one of more than 30 women from across Alabama who agreed to serve on the committee.

“It’s so exciting because Artur Davis is a leader and he has the ability to lead us in a new direction,” Keith said. “He has become familiar with the problems that plague the Black Belt. He has an acute awareness that a chain is only as strong as its weakest link. He really wants to see the Black Belt develop and prosper. He loves Alabama and is ready to take Alabama in a new direction. Artur Davis moves people.”

Email newsletter signup

Davis said he has asked the committee of women to serve in an advisory capacity. “I am asking them to be a sounding board on a wide range of issues; this committee will be a pivotal part of the campaign to reform the way Montgomery operates.”

In addition to serving on the council, Keith works with the Central Alabama Regional Child Advocacy Center and is a member of the National League of Cities.

Others on the committee are Brooke Tanner Battle, managing director of the Foundation Fund Management Co., Birmingham; LaVeeda Battle, founder and owner of The Battle Firm, Birmingham; Mayor Helenor Bell, mayor of Hayneville; Mary Boehm, president of A+ College Ready, Birmingham; Mindy Boggs, marketing director for Boggs and Associates, Birmingham; Magistrate Deloris Boyd, magistrate judge for the U.S. District Court, Montgomery; Cathy Sloss Crenshaw, owner of Sloss Real Estate Group, Birmingham; Carnetta Davis, vice president of BE&K Inc., Birmingham; Elizabeth Dotts, partner in Odyssey Partners LLC, Huntsville; Pat Edington, owner, Heirloom Appraisals & Antiques, Mobile; Lisa Engel, community and philanthropic volunteer, Birmingham; Debra Foster, owner of Annie’s Flower Garden, Anniston; Cathy Friedman, sales director of City Paper Co., Birmingham; Nichelle Gainey, president and CEO of SliverStone International, Birmingham; Ann Hayes, community and philanthropic volunteer, Birmingham; Gaynell Hendricks, owner of Wee Care Academy Inc., Birmingham; Jimmie Hess, community and philanthropic volunteer, Birmingham; Ronne Mitnick Hess, community and philanthropic volunteer, Birmingham; Dr. Sandral Hullett, CEO and medical director, Cooper Green Hospital, Birmingham; Dr. Dorothy Huston, president of Technology Management Training Group, Huntsville; Dr. Nancy Dunla Johns, chief of staff of The Kirklin Clinic, Birmingham; Yolanda McLain, community and philanthropic volunteer, Huntsville; retired Magistrate Vanzetta McPherson, U.S. District Court, Montgomery; Dr. Cindy Reed, director, Auburn University Truman Pierce Institute; Susan Swartz, president, RUSH Initiative, Birmingham; Frances Verstandig, retired executive director Alabama School of Fine Arts; Leila Watson, partner in Cory Watson, Birmingham; Diane Weil, community and philanthropic volunteer, Montgomery; Marthia Wilson, owner Dothan Convention Center, Dothan; Odessa Woolfolk, urban project advisor with Woolfolk and Associates, Birmingham.