• 75°

Dallas County, Southside and Keith recognized on all-county football team

Players from Keith, Southside and Dallas County High School will gather at the Dallas County Learning Resource Center at 7 p.m. to recognize the 2008 All-County Football Team.

“This is just our way of honoring the guys that have worked since the beginning of August through December,” said Finis Sanders, transportation supervisor and athletic director for Dallas County Schools.

“(This is about) the role that a school plays in determining the work ethic for players, and how those players can be rewarded for their hard work.”

Dallas County leads the pack with five players. They are Keymiya Harrell, Andrew Mahan, Ramon Burrell, Justin McAfee and Brandon Jackson.

Keith finished second with four players. Quarterback Clyde Moise is the lone senior of the bunch. He is trailed by juniors Terry Jones, Jr., Ricky Lewis and D’Wan Lewis.

“I think these guys are a pretty good representation of what Keith football is all about,” said Keith coach Harry Crum. “Its nice for the kids and their parents get to show up and they’ll be beaming with pride. They made a lot of sacrifices and the kids made a lot of sacrifices.”

Juniors Jermichael Lee, Deivion Dukes and Julius Brown represent Southside.

Lee led the Panthers with 122 tackles and scored two touchdowns on offense as well.

“These are good people that enjoy football and the work associated with football,” said Southside coach Lemuel Jones. “I’m proud to have them on my side and on my team. They will be the nucleus of most things we’re putting in the package next year.”

The players were nominated by their respective coaches, and each candidate was voted in anonymously. Voters were given stats, but no names.

The players know they have been named to the all-county team, but they will receive other awards at the banquet. These include the scholastic award for the student with the best GPA, the outstanding offensive and defensive players and MVP.

The Times-Journal’s sports editor, Barrett Welch, will be the banquet’s guest speaker.