Allen, Hisel to face each other in runoff

Published 10:32 pm Tuesday, August 26, 2008

Council president hopefuls Geraldine Allen and Gene Hisel will meet in a runoff election in three weeks to decide who will lead the Selma City Council.

That city council also changed somewhat Tuesday after voters cast their ballots.

Hisel, a Selma businessman, led a five-person field with 34 percent of the vote or 2,540 votes, but it was not enough for him to win the seat. Geraldine Allen, an incumbent council member, received 2,058 votes or 27 percent.

Email newsletter signup

Others in the race receiving votes were Labarron Mack, 1,679 votes or 22 percent, Tremayne “Toby” Gorden, 744 votes or 10 percent, Jean T. Martin, 492 votes or 6 percent and Mona Renee Geemes, 48 votes or 1 percent.

Both candidates said they will continue the campaign strategy that brought them this far.

“I am ready,” Hisel said, saying he would stick with the basic issues of public safety and bringing the community together.

Allen said she’ll continue meeting people and asking for their votes. “I was pleased with the results, and I’m looking forward to the runoff,” she said.

In other, unofficial returns with all boxes counted and only provisional votes outstanding, the races turned out like this:

Council, Ward 1: Cecil Williamson, the incumbent, defeated challenger Carver Boynton, 1,181 votes or 88 percent to 158 votes or 12 percent.

Council, Ward 2: Susan Keith garnered 485 votes or 53 percent in a three-person field to defeat Johnny E. Moss III, who received 285 votes or 31 percent and Anthony Smith, who received 146 votes or 16 percent.

Council, Ward 3: Dr. Monica Newton received 555 votes or 60 percent to win outright, defeating Minnie McMillan with 275 votes or 30 percent, Aubrey “Brother” Vick with 50 votes or 5 percent, Felicia M. Owens Dixon with 28 votes or 3 percent and Juanita Lister with 15 votes or 2 percent.

Council, Ward 4: Angela Benjamin received 282 votes for 29 percent and will face Kelvin Williams in a runoff. Williams received 220 votes or 23 percent. Others receiving votes in that ward’s election include Carrie D. Pressley with 216 votes or 22 percent, Carolyn Calhoun Bates with 211 votes or 22 percent and Willis Chappell with 46 votes or 5 percent of the vote.

Council, Ward 5: Incumbent Samuel Randolph will return to his council seat by receiving 626 votes or 75 percent to Kimesha “Sunshine” Alvarado’s 210 votes and 25 percent.

Council, Ward 6: It appears challenger B.L. Tucker has upset incumbent Johnnie Leashore by receiving 402 votes or 51 percent to Leashore’s 394 votes or 49 percent.

Council, Ward 7: Incumbent Bennie Ruth Crenshaw received 494 votes or 53 percent to defeat Lola Sewell with 372 votes or 40 percent and Frances Dianne Hobbs Coles, who received 74 votes or 8 percent.

Council, Ward 8: Corey D. Bowie received 495 votes or 56 percent to defeat incumbent Jannie Venter, who garnered 388 votes or 44 percent.