Other incumbents return to courthouse

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, June 4, 2008

The Selma Times-Journal

Voters decided to return a majority of incumbents to local office Tuesday.

All but one of the members of the Dallas County Board of Commissioners returned to office.

Email newsletter signup

The District 2 seat was the tightest of this year&8217;s election, with Roy Moore defeating Ezekiel Pettway 1,310-878.

Connel Towns had the largest margin of victory in the District 1 seat with 1,349 votes. Hosea James Jr. garnered 352 votes and Hunter Todd 107.

Curtis Williams won the District 3 race with 1,494 votes, and challenger Darryl Moore received 711.

Williams said he was grateful for the support he received in the district.

Williams had faced some controversy after a woman filed charges against him, claiming sexual harassment.

A hearing in District Court is scheduled for June 11 to see if there are enough facts to send the case to the grand jury.

A hearing had been planned originally before the election, but was postponed last week, according to the court docket.

Williams has maintained his innocence.

The school administrator is on leave with pay until an independent investigation is completed by the Dallas County School District.

In other county races, Tammy Jones King defeated challenger Tanika &8220;Nee-Nee&8221; Wagner to return as the county tax collector.

King received 5,096 votes to Wagner&8217;s 3,400.

Frances S. Hughes, the incumbent tax assessor, beat challenger Tanya D. Thomas to return to office.

Hughes said she is excited to return to her office.

Hughes received 4,866 votes to Thomas&8217; 3,503.