Jaguars upset Hornets

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, February 13, 2007

The Selma Times-Journal

With a 64-51 win over the Dallas County Hornets, the Wilcox Central Jaguars are the 5A-Area 4 champions for the fifth year in a row.

“I am extra proud for the disciplined coaching of these young men.

Email newsletter signup

They believe in me and my coaching staff.” said Wilcox Coach Mark Dukes.

“I want to thank the number one fans in the country, Wilcox Central fans.”

Leading the way for the Jaguars was Trevell Coleman who had 18 points, 15 in the second period.

He was named to the all tournament team and also named co-MVP.

The Hornets kept the game close throughout the first half.

Felix Baker hit a three to give the Hornets a one point lead midway through the first.

Alquan Mendenhall, who had 16 points and was named to the all tournament team, answered with a three and the Jaguars led 9-8 at the end of the first.

Back to back three pointers from Coleman gave the Jaguars a 22-17 lead midway through the second period.

They were ahead 29-22 at the half.

“I have to give credit to Coach Moore.

He has a good team and we expect to meet them again in Montgomery.” said Dukes.

With five minutes left to go in the third the Hornets were within six.

However, several turnovers allowed the Jaguars to increase their lead and they were up by fifteen at the end of the third, 48-33.

The Hornets tried to come back in the fourth but several mistakes allowed the Jaguars to stay on top.

“The Jaguars out played us and out hustled us tonight. Their team knows what it takes to win.

Our kids gotta understand talent can only take you so far you need a good team and team unity.” said Hornets Coach Willie Moore.

Thomas King led the Hornets with 10 points and 4 rebounds.

He was named to the all tournament team.

Andrae Nelson followed with 8 points and 7 rebounds and was named to the all tournament team.

Josh Spears was also named to the all tournament team.

Cortez Irby and Deandra Cunningham both had 12 points for the Jaguars and were named to the all tournament team.

Irby was named co-MVP.