Perry County supports Davis

Published 12:00 am Thursday, June 3, 2004

Perry County’s Mary Schaeffer and Carle White have to give it another go on June 29.

The two Democratic candidates for Perry County Board of Education, District 4, managed to scrap through a four-person race to make it to the runoff later this month.

Schaeffer led the field with 32.64 percent or 283 votes. White followed with 214 votes or 24.68 percent. The other two candidates were almost even, with 20.88 percent for Henrietta Jones and 21.80 percent for Emma Lou Nord. Eight votes only separated the two. Neither pulled enough to make the runoff.

Email newsletter signup

Donald Nichols won the District 3 seat for the Perry County Board of Education, with 52.78 percent of the vote, or 436 votes. Ronnie Roberson lost with 390 votes.

Perry County, like the rest of Congressman Artur Davis’ district, overwhelmingly supported the incumbent. Davis won 65.23 percent of the vote, or 2,501 votes. Albert Turner, a Perry County Commissioner, only received 34.77 percent.

In the race for Circuit Judge, incumbent Marvin Wayne Wiggins won 2,581 votes, or 69.68 percent. Farrell Wright, his challenger, only received 1,123 votes, or 30.32.

In the hotly contested district attorney’s race, challenger Michael Jackson took the county’s votes with 57.23 percent compared to Ed Greene’s 42.77 percent.