Morgan places two on All-State

Published 12:00 am Sunday, December 21, 2003

After a season in which the Morgan Senators stormed to the AISA 3-A state championship, coach Robert Gartman’s team had two players named to the Alabama Sports Writers’ All-State team.

Defensive back Robert Armstrong and lineman Jonathan Slagel were tabbed for the team.

Quarterback Travis Lyon was named as an honorable mention as an athlete.

Email newsletter signup

Morgan’s opponent in the title game, Faith Academy, had three players on the team plus Coach of the Year for Robbie James.

Still fans and writers outside of Selma were slow to recognize that had a title-quality team.

Other area players recognized included Michael Riggs of Wilcox, who made the team on defense.

Wilcox quarterback Phillip Merryman was named to the Honorable Mention as was CCA’s Tee Woods.