Council reappoints department heads, creates new position

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, October 14, 2003

Selma department heads can breathe easier after Monday night.

The Selma City Council voted on who would serve as its city department heads after an executive session that lasted about 90 minutes.

After opening the council chamber doors, City Attorney Jimmy Nunn read off a list of department head names as the council voted on reinstating or appointing new people to the positions.

Email newsletter signup

Changes to the city’s administration included Lois Williams, who until Monday night served as acting city clerk, being appointed city clerk by a 7-1 vote with one abstention. Council members James Durry, Sam Randolph, Jean Martin, Nancy Sewell, B.L. Tucker, Bennie Ruth Crenshaw and President George Evans voted in favor. Councilman Glenn Sexton voted against. Councilwoman Rita Sims Franklin abstained.

After the vote for city clerk, Mayor James Perkins Jr. said he wanted a new position created, assistant city clerk, which occurred after a unanimous vote of the council.

Perkins said the reason for the job’s creation was because the position of city clerk held high importance and needed a back-up.

According to Perkins, Ivy Harrison, formerly a secretary in City Hall, will serve as assistant city clerk.

Other re-appointments by the council included:

Marcus Hopkins to the position of director of general services. The vote passed 7-2 with Sexton and Franklin opposing.

Darryl Moore to the position of building inspector. The vote passed 7-1 with Franklin abstaining. Sexton opposed.

Robert Green and Robert Jacobs being re-appointed to the positions of police chief and assistant police chief, respectively.

Cynthia Mitchell as city treasurer. The vote passed unanimously.

Henry Allen as fire chief. The vote passed unanimously.