Hornets team of the year

Published 12:00 am Friday, November 22, 2002

The Dallas County High Hornets were named the Selma Times Journal AHSAA team of the year. The Hornets rolled up an impressive record of 10-2, and made it to the second round of the AHSAA playoffs. They were led by head coach Tom Causey.

The Hornets rolled up impressive numbers on offense this year. They had a total of 3,967 yards rushing, and 342 total points on the ground. They put up 872 passing yards, and 12 touchdowns in the air. The Hornets also rolled up an impressive 622 return yards this season.

The Hornets were led on the ground by James Jones Jr. with 1,245 yards rushing on 147 attempts, and rolled up an impressive 102 points. Clifford Lyons Jr. was not far behind with 1,015 rushing yards on 83 attempts, and had 96 points. Donovan Dixon had 577 yards on 115 attempts, and 54 points.

Email newsletter signup

Dixon led the team in passing with 831 yards on 38 completions, and he had 12 touchdowns. Lyons led the way in receiving with 20 catches for 458 yards, and eight touchdowns. Randell Browder was next on the team with 243 yards on 11 catches, and three touchdowns.

On Special teams Lyons led the way with 302 return yards, and two touchdowns. Jones was next with 178 return yards, and one touchdown.

Defensively for the Hornets, Randell Browder led the way with 65 tackles, three sacks, and two interceptions. Carlos Peoples also had 65 tackles, and three sacks. Zach Wilson finished the year with 51 tackles, and 4 sacks.