Selma City Council appoints new board members

Published 8:17 am Thursday, August 11, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Selma City Council approved the selection of  two different boards at its City Council meeting on Tuesday night at Council Chambers.

Council members present were: City Council President Billy Young, council members Troy Harvill, Christie Thomas, Michael Johnson, Atkin Jemison, Lesia James, Clay Carmichael and Jannie Thomas.

Former Selma Mayor George Evans was approved to serve on the Selma Water Works Board, replacing Johnson. Evans served as Selma Mayor from 2008 to 2016.James was also nominated.

Email newsletter signup

Christie Thomas was approved for the Selma Water Works Board last month.

Young said the city council will look at expiring terms for other members on the Selma Water Works Board.

The city council also approved that Catesby Jones, Alphonse Perry, Edwatrd T. Livingston, Jerria Martin,  Corey Bowie, Andy Stewart and David McCormack to serve on the Industrial Development Board.

Martin, Bowie and Stewart are new members. The other members are being reappointed.