Morgan Academy Valedictorian, Salutatorian appreciate journey to top of class

Published 9:43 am Friday, May 21, 2021

Hasten Bridges and Grace Wilkinson appreciated the journey to finish atop Morgan Academy’s senior class of 2021.

Bridges was named the Class Valedictorian and Wilkinson named Salutatorian on Thursday night at Morgan Stadium.

The road to becoming Valedictorian was an adventurous one for Bridges, who finished with a 4.24 GPA. He will attend Auburn University and major in Chemical Engineering.

“I feel honored being the Class Valedictorian,” Bridges said. “It’s been a journey to get to the top. I’m really excited for the future.”

Wilkinson received a second honor, earning the Stacey Russell Memorial Scholarship. She finished with a 4.24 GPA and will attend Auburn, majoring in Biology.

“I feel honored to represent Morgan Academy,” Wilkinson said. “I have a lot of memories at Morgan Academy. This senior class has a lot of kind hearted people.”

Jones Free earned the Nell Edwards Christian Character Scholarship. Free will play golf at the University of Alabama.

Here’s the Class of 2021: Osagie Charles Aghedo, William Seabrook Alison, Robert Cobb Beers, Hasten Keith Bridges, Sydney Ellen Brooks, Eric Joshua Brown, Emma Hope Deramus, Evan Hardy Eskridge, Benjamin Caleb Feister, Leon Jones Free, Robert Matthew Free III, McKinley Brooke Fuller, Christopher James Gardner, Jackson Russell Jones, Mary Carolyn Katherine Jones, Sarah Gresham Jones, Scott Joel LaLone Jr., Hannah Steen Lightfoot, Arrington Wayne Mooney, Kirstie Paige Morgan, Kenneth Troy Nichols II, Erin Elizabeth Odom, Timothy Clayton O’Shields, Mary Alan Ousley, Nund Satyam Patel, Haley Morgan Pauley, Brody Seth Roberts, William Drake Roberts, George Edward Turner, William Holt Utsey, Elaina Grace Wilkinson, William Trevor Wilson, Gray Calhoun Youngblood Jr., and Margaret Cecile Youngblood.

Morgan Academy Director of Operation Karim Plummer Oaks said the Class of 2021 received over $3 million in scholarship money.