• 46°

Seven Constables sworn in Dallas County Courthouse

Seven Dallas County Constables were sworn in at the Dallas County Courthouse last week.

Jasper Bowie, Herbert Blackman, Bert Scott, Lee Anthony Moore, Lola Sewell, Martie Tolbert and Gregory Tolbert were sworn in on Jan. 8.

Dallas County Probate Judge Jimmy Nunn asked each one to raise their right hand and repeat after him, as they took their oath.

“I will faithfully and honestly discharge the duties of the constable of Dallas County to the best of my ability, so help me God,” Nunn said.

Two other Constables, Lee Green and David Brown, will be sworn in this week.

Bowie enters his 16th year and fourth term as a Constable. Bowie said he’s proud to serve the community again.

“I’ve been doing this for a long time,” Bowie joked. “I like working with people.”