Mayor’s race headed for Jackson, Perkins runoff

Published 10:17 am Wednesday, August 26, 2020

A couple dozen people gathered in Selma City Hall Tuesday night to listen to the election results in Selma’s municipal race.

In the mayoral contest, former Selma Mayor James Perkins Jr. walked away with 2,500 votes, just over 45 percent, and Selma City Councilwoman Miah Jackson claimed 1,699 votes, just over 25 percent, setting the stage for an October runoff.

Local attorney Yusuf Salaam walked away with 632 while former Selma Police Department (SPD) Chief Robert Green claimed 245.

The Selma City Council President’s race is likewise headed for a runoff between 100 Black Men of Selma President Billy Young, who claimed 1,886 votes, and Selma AIR’s Lydia Chatmon, who claimed 1,526 votes.

Incumbent Corey Bowie walked away with 1,514 votes, roughly 13 votes shy of making the runoff.

In the Selma City Council Ward 1 race, Troy Harvill claimed victory with 531 votes, while the Ward 2 race is headed for a runoff between Landon Nichols, who claimed 272 votes, and Christie Thomas, who walked away with 181 votes.

In the Ward 3 race, Clay Carmichael and Mead Walker, who claimed 260 and 197 votes respectively, will face off again in an October runoff, as will the Ward 4 contest, which will feature Lesia James, who claimed 247 votes Tuesday, and Javares Whitely, who walked away with 145 votes.

Ward 5 incumbent Sam Randolph barely eked out a victory over opponent Nadine Sturdivant, 334-311, while Ward 6 will have a runoff between Atkin Jemison, who claimed 196 votes, and B.L Tucker, who claimed 142 votes.

Incumbent Ward 6 Councilman Johnnie Leashore took home 137 votes.

Ward 7 incumbent Jannie Thomas narrowly claimed victory over opponent Hatwatha McGhee, 300-219, while Ward 8 incumbent Michael Johnson claimed victory with 351 votes.

In the Selma City School Board President contest, incumbent Johnny Moss III handily defeated opponent Jeffery Strong, claiming 2,500 more votes, and both Selma City School Board seats – District 3 and District 4 – were reclaimed by incumbents Phyllis Houser and Tanya Miles.

Municipal elections were also held in Valley Grande and Orrville Tuesday.

In the Valley Grande City Council contest, Kay Davidson defeated incumbent Tim White in Place 1, 497-242, and Sara Day defeated incumbent Ronald Sawyer in Place 2.

Jane Harris claimed victory over incumbent Lamar Morgan, 418-302, in the Place 3 race and Robbie Rose bested incumbent Jimmy Johnson, 375-348, in the Place 5 contest.

Incumbent Tammy Troha survived to a runoff against Bruce Hughes in October for the Place 4 council seat.

Troha outpaced Bruce Hughes 294-284, followed by Beverly Strickland’s 151 votes.

In Orrville, incumbent Mayor Louvenia Lumpkin defeated Larry Mallo, 93-66, for a third term and William Lumpkin, Lumpkin’s husband, was re-elected to the city council with 68 votes.

William Lumpkin will be joined by four new council members: Josh Morrow, who claimed 55 votes, Jacqueline Richardson, who walked away with 51 votes, Tim Frazier, who earned 50 votes, and Jim Brunson, 41 votes.