Election Day tomorrow

Published 11:59 am Monday, August 24, 2020

After months of virtual campaigning and candidate forums, the City of Selma’s municipal election will finally be held tomorrow, Aug 25.

On Tuesday’s ballot, 12 candidates are jockeying for the position of the Queen City’s mayor, including: Tremayne “Toby” Gorden, Robert Green, Miah Jackson, Cleophus Mann. James Perkins Jr., Clyde Richardson, Yusuf Salaam, Havard Spencer, Turkesa Sullivan, Renarda White, Randy Williams and John Neva Luze Willoughby.

For Selma City Council President, incumbent Corey Bowie will be challenged for the gavel by Kimesha Houston “Sunshine” Alvarado, Lydia Chatmon, Wil Jackson and Warren “Billy” Young.

For Selma City School Board President, incumbent Johnny Moss III will face challenger Jeffery J. Strong.

In total, there are 25 candidates seeking to serve on the Selma City Council across the Queen City’s eight wards.

In Ward 1, current councilman Carl Bowline has decided not to re-seek his council seat leaving Gabriel Brown, Troy Harvill and Mike Lewis to face off for the position.

In Ward 2, current councilwoman Susan Youngblood has also decided not to run for her current position again, leaving Landon Nichols, Danyell Parker and Christine Thomas to jockey for the seat.

In Ward 3, Stephen Brooks, Clay Carmichael and Mead Walker are competing to serve.

In Ward 4, current councilwoman Angela Benjamin has joined Bowline and Youngblood in deciding not to seek reelection this term, leaving Glenys Dukes, Lesia James and Javares Whitely to campaign for the seat.

In Ward 5, incumbent Sam Randolph will face challenger Nadine Sturdivant.

In Ward 6, incumbent Johnnie Leashore will face challengers Atkin Jemison, Jasmine Pritchett, B.L. Tucker and Robert “Wolf” Walker.

In Ward 7, incumbent Jannie Thomas will face challenger Hatwatha McGhee.

Finally, in Ward 8, incumbent Michael Johnson will face challengers Charles Burgess and Tyrone Hatcher.

Also on the ballot Tuesday are those gunning for spots on the Selma City School Board, though only two seats face any opposition from other candidates.

District 3 Selma City School Board Member Phyllis Houser will be challenged by Wanda Tyler and District 4 Selma City School Board Member Tanya Miles will face Lydia Pettway.