Rogers, Justice,Wagner-Neely win local spots in runoff election

Published 10:11 pm Tuesday, July 14, 2020

The final results of Dallas County’s Primary Election were determined last night during the runoff, which was postponed from its original March 31 date due to COVID-19.
Vivian Rogers narrowly won the District 2 seat of the Dallas County Commission over Mike Irwin 787 votes to 781 votes.
The District 4 seat of the Dallas County Commission was won by Jan Justice who recieved 1,250 votes compared to challenger William Lumpkin’s 1194 votes.
Tanika Wagner-Neely will become the next Dallas County Tax Collector, recieving 4,017 votes over Janet Frasiers 2,514 votes.
At the state level, Beth Kellum defeated Will Smith 397 votes to 249 votes for the Place 2 Judge position on the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals.
Tonya Chestnut won Dallas County securing nearly twice as many votes as her competitor, Fred Bell, 4,937 votes to 1,253 votes.
Finally, Tommy Tuberville won Dallas County’s vote as the republican nominee for the U.S. Senate seat over challenger Jeff Sessions 493 votes to 301 votes.