Morgan Academy bids farewell to Class of 2020

Published 1:35 pm Friday, May 22, 2020

The clouds lifted and the rain ceased Thursday evening just in time for the Morgan Academy class of 2020 to participate in an outdoor graduation ceremony on the school’s football field.
The graduates were all smiles as they sat spaced out on the football field flanked by their parents and guardians while other supporters watched the ceremony from the bleachers.
Morgan Academy’s class of 2020 was awarded the highest amount of scholarship funds among its 35 seniors in the school’s 55-year history, totaling over $3 million.
After the graduates were recognized for their academic achievements, the crowd heard from the class’s Valedictorian, Judy Assaad, and Salutatorian, Rachel Johnson.
Within their speeches, both Assaad and Johnson wished their classmate well in their future endeavors and encouraged them to stay true to themselves.
The Morgan Academy Class of 2020 consists of: Averee Kathleen Adams, Tindall Cole Albritton, Judy Assaad, Abigail Brynn Bohannon, Gracen McHugh Bridges, Ethan Elliston Cargill, Taylor Leigh Chappelle, Margaret Claire Colley, Gus Wilson Colvin IV, Matthew Gray Davis, William Porter Edwards, Jason Cade Egbert, Mary Kathryn Egbert, Tyler Mack Elliott, Joseph Andrew Estes, Aubrey Elizabeth Holladay, Trent Burton Huff, William McCain Ingram, Rachel Leigh Johnson, Colleen Salter Jones, KaLee Gayle Jones, Kenley Elizabeth Kauffman, Jeremy Joseph Lee Jr., Thomas Carter Morris, Natalie Brooke Oslund, Mary Ashlyn Pearce, DeMarckus James Smiley, Ansley Halyn Smitherman, Emily Rachel Strickland, Caroline Walton Thomas, Mary Elizabeth Todd, William Milam Turner IV, Richard Allen Waters II and Bradley Pierce Williams.
“Thank you for the memories,” said Morgan Academy Headmaster Mark Knight. “Stay true to God, your parents and the values you learned here at Morgan Academy.”