Local elections full of upsets during primaries

Published 10:34 pm Tuesday, March 3, 2020

Tuesday night’s election results showed several upsets after the ballots for all 30 precincts made it to the Dallas County Probate Judge’s office.
District 1 Dallas County Commissioner incumbent Valerie Reubin fell marginally to challenger Connel Towns by a mere 20 votes with Reubin receiving 1,129 and Towns receiving 1,149.
Towns held the seat before Reubin for four terms, 16 years, before Reubin was elected in 2016.
District 2 Dallas County Commissioner incumbent Roy Moore was also voted out of his seat Tuesday night.
The District 2 seat of the Dallas County Commission will head to a runoff election on March 31 between Michael Irwin who received 38.64 percent of the vote and Vivian Rogers who received 35.93 percent of the vote.
District 3 Dallas County Commissioner Curtis Williams was the only incumbent commissioner to receive an overwhelming majority of the vote on Tuesday with 76.08 percent of the vote over challenger Channie Chapman.
The District 4 seat of the Dallas County Commission will also head to a runoff election on March 31 between Jan Justice who received 38.25 percent of the vote and William Lumpkin who received 23.88 percent of the vote.
Incumbent Larry Nickles received 21.20 percent of the vote.
Janet Frasier and Tanika Wagner-Neely will also face off on the March 31 runoff ballot for Dallas County Tax Collector.
Carroll Bonner won the majority vote, 67.41 percent, over Weida Sheehan, who serves as the current Dallas County Tax Assessor.