• 48°

Local fraternity hands out scholarships, honors

The Delta Pi Lambda chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha held its ninth annual John D. Taylor Banquet, during which the chapter celebrated its 70th anniversary, honored longtime Alphas and community leaders and handed out scholarships to local students.

“The event was an extraordinary success,” said chapter President Billy Young. “It was a real honor.”

The chapter honored local educator Freeman Waller and local physicians Dr. Edgar Brown and Dr. Charles Lett with plaques, a professionally-made mini-documentary and a gift basket.

“It was an honor that was worthy of the service these men have done,” Young said.

In attendance for the event was Rosa Taylor, daughter of the program’s namesake, who has supported the banquet for the last nine years.

John D. Taylor was a local educator and community servant who was well-known throughout the area, Young said.

“For us, he was the last living founder of our chapter,” Young said.

The chapter awarded 13 scholarships, though two winners from Wilcox and Perry counties will be named in the coming weeks.

The other 11 scholarship winners are as follows:

• Jakayla Mosely of Keith High School to study Forensic Sciences at Springhill College;

• Freddrick Simmons of Dallas County High School to study Biology at Auburn University at Montgomery (AUM);

• Kyerra Crum of Southside High School to study Mathematics at Alabama A&M University;

• Kendall Senatra Thomas, III of Dallas County High School to study Sports Medicine;

• Mariah Davis of Selma High School to study Mechanical Engineering at Tuskegee University;

• Gabriel Crum of Ellwood Christian Academy to study Early Childhood Education at Wallace Community College – Selma;

• Ronia Garden of Selma High School to study Psychology at the University of Alabama.

Preston Parker McGee was named the Randall Miller Scholar; Caleb Gifford was named the Ben Givan Scholar; Caleb Alvin Noah Reaves received the Founders Scholarship; and Maximus Jones was named the John D. Taylor Scholar.