Strange gets most write-in votes in Dallas County

Published 7:23 pm Friday, December 22, 2017

Doug Jones and Roy Moore received most of the votes in Dallas County during the U.S. Senate election last week, but some voters took the time to write-in their own candidate, whether it was a cartoon character or a college football coach.

The Alabama Secretary of State’s Office reported more than 22,000 write-in votes were cast on Dec. 12 in the U.S. Senate election, and 60 of those were from Dallas County. Due to the number of write-in votes being larger than the difference between Jones and Moore, each county had to count its write-in votes.

Apparently, neither candidate was good enough for one Dallas County voter, who wrote “neither.”

Auburn head football coach Gus Malzahn received one vote, while Alabama head football coach Nick Saban received none in Dallas County.

Cartoon character Charlie Brown’s dog, Snoopy, even received a vote. He was the only cartoon character to get any votes in Dallas County. Votes for Mickey Mouse and Bugs Bunny were reported in other counties, according to The Associated Press and

Luther Strange, who is in the Senate seat until Jones is sworn in, received the most write-in votes in Dallas County with 30, the former Alabama Attorney General, was appointed by former Gov. Robert Bentley before he resigned. Strange ran for the seat, but he was defeated by Moore in September.

Lee Busby, who campaigned as a write-in candidate, had the second most votes with 13. U.S. Representative Mo Brooks, who ran in the Republican primary, received two votes.

Orrville Mayor Louvenia Lumpkin received one vote.

All of the write-in results for Dallas County are listed below:

Agee Middleton 2

Luther Strange 30

Lee Busby 13

Neither 1

Gus Malzahn 1

Snoopy 1

Mo Brooks 2

Lewis Franklin 1

Vermin Supreme 1

Roy Bush 1

Ron Bishop 1

Asa Lace 1

Maggie D. Peterson 1

Louvenia Lumpkin 1

Colla Chestnut Sr. 1

Kirtley Brown 1

Ron Bush 1