Sanders to challenge Jackson for district attorney

Published 7:05 pm Saturday, November 14, 2015

Qualifying for candidates running in the statewide primary election in March closed last Friday, and 35 candidates qualified to run for positions representing Dallas County in the March 1 “SEC Primary.”

The list of candidates is mostly comprised of Democrats, but there are a few Republicans sprinkled in the mix of the 17 different races.

Qualifying for the primary ended Friday, Nov. 6 at 5 p.m.

Starting with those representing Dallas County in Washington D.C., incumbent Terri Sewell and David Van Williams qualified for Alabama’s 7th Congressional District as Democratic candidates. No Republican qualified.

The district covers much of the Black Belt and parts of Tuscaloosa and Birmingham. Sewell took office in 2011.

Incumbent Richard Shelby will go up against four Republicans and two Democrats in his bid for re-election. John Martin, Shadrick McGill, Jonathan McConnel and Marcus Bowman are Shelby’s GOP opposition, while Charles Nana and Ron Crumpton are his Democratic opponents.

Incumbent Ella Bell will run against Joanne Shum for State Board of Education District 5 as Democrats.

Place two and three for Fourth Judicial Circuit Court Judge are up for election. Jana Russell Garner and Don McMillan are running for place two, while incumbent Marvin Wayne Wiggins is running for place three. All three candidates are running as Democrats.

Incumbent Michael Jackson will go up against Faya “Rose Sanders” Toure for District Attorney for the Fourth Judicial Circuit, which includes Bibb, Perry, Hale, Dallas and Wilcox counties. Jackson was elected in 2004 and is finishing his second term.

Incumbent Bob Armstrong will run unopposed for District Judge in Dallas County.

All four Dallas County Commission seats are up for election.

District 1 incumbent Connel Towns will run against Valerie Price Reubin and Jelani Coleman.

District 2 incumbent Roy Moore will run unopposed. District 3 incumbent Curtis Williams will run against Darryl D. Moore, and District 4 incumbent Larry Nickles will run against Raymond Butler and John Lumpkin.

Two spots on the Dallas County Board of Education are up for election. District 1 incumbent William D. Minor Sr. will run unopposed, and Mark Story, a Republican incumbent, will run unopposed for District 4.

Other offices that will be included on the ballot are President, three seats on the Alabama Supreme Court and Public Service Commission President.

The statewide primary will be March 1, and a run-off, if needed, will be April 12.

Candidates that did not qualify for a party will have a chance to qualify for election as an independent by submitting a petition to the secretary of state, or federal office or the probate judge no later than the date of the primary.

The petition must have signatures of three percent of the total amount of voters that cast ballots in the last election for governor in the county, district or other political subdivision the candidate is seeking office in, according to the Alabama Secretary of State’s office.