• 70°

Demopolis among five new Blue Ribbon Schools in state

Five Alabama schools have received “Blue Ribbon” status from the U.S. Department of Education.

They are: Spain Park High School in Hoover; Wrights Mills Elementary in Auburn; Leon Sheffield Magnet Elementary in Decatur; George Hall Elementary in Mobile; and Demopolis High School.

The Blue Ribbon School designation recognizes public and private K-12 schools for outstanding academic achievement on standardized tests.

320 schools across the nation were also honored.