Staff report

Published 12:00 am Monday, July 7, 2008

The municipal political season has officially kicked off.

Candidates began qualifying for office July 1 and will have until July 15 to file their papers at the Selma City Clerk’s office.

So far, three people have qualified for the mayor’s race. Incumbent James Perkins Jr. and City Council President George Evans made their candidacies official on July 1.

Email newsletter signup

However, John Jowers, 1813 Old Orrville Road, jumpedinto the mix last Thursday. Jowers ran unsuccessfully four years ago against

Cecil Williamson in Ward 1. Jowers received 155 votes or 12 percent to Williamson’s 1,096 votes or 88 percent.

The council president’s race has four candidates qualified already, including Tremayne Gorden, Geraldine Allen, Labarron Mack and Gene Hisel. This seat is up for grabs because Evans has decided to run for mayor.

Others qualifying:

Ward 1: None

Ward 2: Anthony J. Smith, Susan Keith and Johnny E. Moss III

Ward 3: Juanita Lister

Ward 4: None

Ward 5: Samuel L. Randolph

Ward 6: Benny L. Tucker and Johnnie M. Leashore

Ward 7: None

Ward 8: None