Calendars for schools in place

Published 8:43pm Thursday, May 16, 2013

Although there is less than two weeks before students are released from city and county schools for the summer, the administration from both Selma City Schools and the Dallas County School System are already thinking about the next school year, as they have each approved their calendar for the 2013-2014 school year.

And while students may not be ready to start thinking about their next year, there are a few key dates their families may need to know before they begin their summer vacation.

For the 2013-2014 school year, Selma City Schools will begin Monday, Aug. 19 and end Thursday, May 22, and Dallas County Schools will begin Aug. 19, and end Friday, May 23.

Both school systems will be off Labor Day, which falls on Monday, Sept. 2, Veteran’s Day, Monday, Nov. 11 and Martin Luther King Day, Monday, Jan. 20.

Dallas County Schools will have off Monday, Nov. 25 through Friday Nov. 29 for Thanksgiving break, while Selma City Schools will close Wednesday, Nov. 27 through Friday, Nov. 29 for the holiday, which is one day more than allowed for the 2012-2013 school year.

Selma’s school calendar will allow an extra day of Thanksgiving break, because instead of two built-in inclement weather days, there will only be one, Gerald Shirley, Selma City Schools superintendent said.

Both school systems will dismiss students Friday, Dec. 20 before the holidays. Selma City Schools will reopen for students Thursday, Jan. 2 and Dallas County students will return Monday, Jan. 6.

Spring break for both systems falls on the same week, starting Monday, March 24 through Friday, March 28.

To see the full school calendar for Dallas County Schools visit www.dallask12.org and to see the calendar for Selma City Schools visit www.selmacityschools.org.

Leave a comment

You must be a registered user and signed in to comment on this article and view existing comments.

Editor's Picks