Bentley appoints members to health, planning board

Published 10:24pm Saturday, February 12, 2011

MONTGOMERY, (AP) — Gov. Robert Bentley has appointed new members to serve on two boards of the State Health Planning and Development Agency.

The newly named members will serve on the Certificate of Need Review Board and the State Health Coordinating Council.

In making the appointments, Bentley signed an executive order which rescinds a previous Jan. 18 executive order calling for a moratorium on any action by the two boards.

Bentley, a retired physician, also said that he has full confidence in the newly appointed board members, who he said have a wealth of experience in their fields.

Members of the Certificate of Need Review Board are: Dr. Swaid N. Swaid of Birmingham, Dr. Herb Stone of Mobile, Dr. Bob Sheppard of Tuscaloosa, former state Rep. Neal Morrison of Cullman, Montgomery businessman Guice Slawson Jr., Gen. Ed Crowell of Montgomery, Hodges Washington of Madison, Dr. Michael Gosney of Muscle Shoals and Dr. Chris Harmon of Birmingham.

Members of the State Health Coordinating Council are: Dr. Ruth Yates of Huntsville, Dr. James Walburn of Tuscaloosa, Dr. Vera Soong of Birmingham, Ruth Harrell of Flomaton, Dr. Gillis Payne of Montgomery, Dr. McCain Ashurst of Montgomery, Dr. Theodis Buggs of Birmingham, Dr. Tommy Bender of Mobile, Dr. Jeff Underwood III of Montgomery, Robbie Owen of Daphne, Brenda Culver of Bay Minette, William Smith of Florence, Rebecca Thrasher of Decatur, Judy Merritt of Birmingham, John Killian of Maytown, Brandon Farmer of Tuscaloosa, Mary Holcomb of Sheffield, Rep. Jim McClendon of Springville, Sen. Greg Reed of Jasper, Ross Gunnells of Aliceville, Rep. Mary Sue McClurkin of Pelham, F.Wayne Pate of Birmingham and Rep. April Weaver of Centreville.

Editor's Picks